Cinco de WASTED: Preface
For some reason, some of my favorite memories of my freshman year are those I cant remember. Partying at VCU is hit or miss. If you know the right people and the right places, it’s mainly a hit. If not, well, you’re boned, have fun in the dorm (which can sometimes be better than a party anyways). However, there is such thing as a party low time and a party high time. Right before and right after breaks seem to be the best parties to go to.
Any who, my party experiences varied from the loud dance parties held at Kobe, to that one awkward time at Gayler’s place (if we can even define that as a party), each party was an experience.
Any who, my party experiences varied from the loud dance parties held at Kobe, to that one awkward time at Gayler’s place (if we can even define that as a party), each party was an experience.
Cinco De Mayo was never really a big deal for me, probably be cause I have never done anything for it other than wear a sombrero and maybe go out for some Mexican food, i. e. Taco Bell (I know, its not real Mexican, but who can resist the chalupa?). I did a lil bit o’ research on the subject and according to wikipedia.org, “Cinco de Mayo celebrates the legendary Battle of Puebla, Mexico on May 5, 1862 in which a Mexican force of 4,500 men faced 6,000 men of the ominous and well trained forces of Napoleon III's French Army. The battle lasting all of four hours ended in a moral and physical victory for the Mexican Army under the 33 year old General Ignacio Zaragoza.” Well isn’t that interesting, what a great excuse for us to get shit-faced and decorate our apartments with bright reds greens and whites and streamers and sombreros and kegs and the party staple, the red solo cups.
[more to come]

1 comment:
wow... i'm mexican and i didn't know that. i just know the song. uno de enero, dos de febrero, trez de marzo, cuatro de abril... you know the whole bit.
Post a Comment